My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie so please bear with me. I would like to get rid of the discharge chute and replace with mulching blades and the cover to close the discharge opening. It seems like their is a slight consensus to go to the Gator blades but I have not been able to find the cover to close the opening. I have seen where people have fabricated this but that is NOT ME. I would rather have a factory type cover to close this. Anyone have any ideas for me? Thanks, Steve.

·
Landscaping Nut
1,362 Posts
I cut grass from time to time with a bx24 with the 60 inch standard midmount kubota deck. I inquired with messicks, a site sponsor and dealer, and the only thing they have is a mulching kit with baffles and a block off blate. They don't sale the block off plate individually. The kit runs over 400 dollars.

·
Machinery enthusiast
4,257 Posts
Welcome aboard scp1scp.
Like HiPocket pointed out, Kubota makes a much kit for your MMM. You have to install some baffles on the MMM that basically encloses each blade within it's own circular chamber and this also closes off the discharge shoot. The kit includes the mucling blades too.
Theres been many reviews by those who have installed this kit with the vast majority giving it a thumbs up. Installation, which has been reported to be somewhat easy, includes having to either flip the MMM over or block it up so one can access both the top and bottom.
The kit isn't designed to be swapped on and off, it's more or less a permanent installation as it's not an easy on / off.

I did try to fab up my own mulch plate and tried it with the std blades as well as the gatorblades and it didn't work out very well for me.

Good luck

·
9K+ Poster
12,160 Posts
Welcome to the forum! :Welcome1: