My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,930 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have another question. This time about my 7256. In the pic below, what is that part that I circled and pointed an arrow at? It looks to be sticking out further than the one on my 6255. Lower oil seal? I thought that it would be up further. I am new to these older pre-1976 D engines (D400 series engines). I have much interest in them. They seem to be some of the best and most reliable engines built IMHO. TIA!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
8,051 Posts
It is alot lower than where the one on my 5232 is. Mine is flush with the housing.
I have to agree that the d400 is of the best / simplist engine that LB put out. Very powerful IMO, too.

MU

·
2 stroke enthusiast
6,568 Posts
It is alot lower than where the one on my 5232 is. Mine is flush with the housing.
I have to agree that the d400 is of the best / simplist engine that LB put out. Very powerful IMO, too.

MU
I'll vote for the non-compliant F series as being the "simplest" design. The ignition/govenor setup takes the D series out IMHO.

·
Registered
2,534 Posts

·
5K Poster!!!
5,141 Posts
Those dual bushing engines are the best D-400's because of the added protection of the extended shaft. Less chance of a bent crank...

The later D-400's didn't have the extended shaft...

·
Collector of many tractors
15,270 Posts
An oil seal is kinda like a bushing... Just pressed in... It could be the block was not bored deep enough or it was just not pressed in far enough... It looks like its doing its job just fine ... i would say dont touch...

·
Registered
2,930 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Those dual bushing engines are the best D-400's because of the added protection of the extended shaft. Less chance of a bent crank...

The later D-400's didn't have the extended shaft...
I have examples of both. I really like the early D400's. Some of the best built, I just can't say that enough!:fing32:

·
4,275 Posts