My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Administrator
4,533 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need something to weed between rows of my garden, so I put an ad on Facebook last night. Got an answer that a guy at our local flea market had a couple. Went today on my lunch break. These were so cheap, I grabbed both. The Noma with Tecumseh engine started after a few pulls. Needs a tune up though. The Ryobi needs fuel lines redone. Will see which I like better once I get them both going.

Attachments

·
Registered
17 Posts
I hope at least one of them will work for you because they are great for weeding around plants etc. Ive been using a Mantis Cultivator for several years and it has reached the end of its life I'm afraid.I can't imagine gardening without one now so I'm in market for new one.

Would like to hear how these work out for you! Good luck!

·
Joe
1,165 Posts
I hope at least one of them will work for you because they are great for weeding around plants etc. Ive been using a Mantis Cultivator for several years and it has reached the end of its life I'm afraid.I can't imagine gardening without one now so I'm in market for new one.
Mantis' are the only small tillers I will use.

·
Premium Member
7,718 Posts
I had a neighbor who swore by Mantis.

Me, wanting to minimize engines to maintain, bought a grass trimmer with tiller attachment. Works great, but the weight of the engine is on the wrong end to be helpful (need it at the tines, not the top of the pole). In tough soil, the tiller won't dig, it just bounces over the top.

I add weight (ankle-wraparound exercise weights) to the tiller end, which helps with the digging; but you still have to lug that extra weight around, and the engine weight is just extra burden.

Mike

·
Administrator
4,533 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I tend to agree Mike. I have had both these running now and the Noma seems to dig in better and seems more balanced. I need to rebuild the carb on it though, keeps stalling. Waiting for a kit.