My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3,329 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I see tons of people asking for advice on riding mowers. Thought I'd ask about welders.

I am a backyard hack, and so far just weld to fix things. Self taught along with You Tube. I have a cheap Horrible Freight 90 amp wire feed flux core that works OK, not pretty but nothing has come apart. So since I use this seldomly I might as well get a lot better one. Looking to keep the welder under $1500, and would like it to do anything I might ever encounter.

Following parameters:
240 volt with option of 110
Mig capable
Capable of stick although I have never done any stick
Tig not important
Portable not real important, I'll probably keep the cheap HF if I had to take one somewhere
Capable of handling heavier metals.

Looking real seriously at Miller 211 but leaning to the Miller 215.
Good deal on Lincoln 210MP right now with rebate but a lot more like Miller from what I am reading. The welding shops both say the Miller is much more bulletproof due to boards on the Lincoln have had problems if used in a portable environment.

·
Registered
1,764 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,058 Posts
I have an older 211 (bigger cabinet than the newer ones) and very happy with it. Course, it's MIG only. I've had it about 5 years now, and it's had no problems for me, using 220V., used it on up to 3/8" steel. I self-taught myself to kind of weld with this (I'm not that great at it), but what I've made has stayed together (multiple ramps, custom attachments to mowers, 4wd system in my truck).

For more prolonged welding on thicker stuff (1/4" and up), I'll switch to a stick buzz box (think it's a lincoln, I inherited it from my dad, probably should take it apart and figure out how it's wired as it's been customized a bit with separate a/c and d/c outputs). But most of my welding is with thinner stuff, so I use the 211 the majority of the time.