My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new.

I was wondering if the largest old-style tractors(mf14, mf16) had a gear transmission at all.

I had seen the mf12 mentioned with a gear transmission, so I was just wondering.

The reason I ask is because I want to build a pulling tractor and gear transmission is recommended.

If you can find those with a gear transmission, how do you tell the difference?

Jser

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Hi

I recently asked myself the same question, as I would like to get one of the garden tractors and would prefer gear drive. I went to agcopartsbooks.com and looked up the 12 and 16. The 16 does not appear to have a gear version while the smaller 10/12 does. I am new to these machines, so I stand to be corrected, but that is what I found. The parts books are available to browse if you want to see how these tractors are put together.

Cheers
Brian

·
I bleed M-F red
787 Posts
The largest 60's-early 70's GT, would be the MF-12G. I'm not sure that it would make the best puller, because it uses a long variable pulley drive belt.
I've seen a cub puller, with MF body work on it, that might be an option?

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So, none of the mf14 or mf16s have gear drive?

I failed to mention this will basically be a stock tractor, so it just needs to be a good solid tractor. Therefore belt drive should not be an issue, but you mentioned something about a variable drive pulley, would that be a problem?

Just really liked the looks of the MF14, 16 so I thought it would be great if I could get the larger frame and toughness of the bigger ones compared to the 10 and 12.

Thanks for your help.
Jser

·
Registered
3,087 Posts
Jser I have a MF14 and MF16 hydo and to my knowledge (which is lacking on these) they only came in the hydro.