My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
594 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the "older" propel gearbox on the new to me Mower I have been playing with. I love this thing, but it gear box it giving me ****. It works in 3rd and 2nd, but not first. It just wont go. Curious if a pin has sheared inside. Also my drive belt is probably stretched to the limit and the bailer cable on the propel is a couple threads away from being useless.

Ahh the fun of a new mower. Just need some answers and input. Thanks Guru's.

·
Registered
322 Posts
I don't know that I will be able to give you any helpful advice on getting your first gear working, but if you haven't yet done so, there is an M-series repair manual available as a free download at lawnboy.com. It about an 8.5 MB download, and it is pretty comprehensive. From the main page, click on the "parts" link on the left side. Then you'll enter your model number, pick the correct sub-model, and then click the "Manuals" link at the bottom. That will give you the oportunity to download the 174 page "Lawn-Boy M-Series WPM Service Manual." )

I also have an M21BMR model, but to be honest, I have hardly ever used the first speed on mine. 99% of the life of my mower has been in 3rd gear. I wouldn't really sweat it too much if you never got first working, as long as 2nd and 3rd work well.
Glad you got the mower, and good luck getting things working well.

·
Registered
594 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I agree, 1st probably wont be used any if at all. Its just the fact I want it to to work. I do have the manual downloaded.I will take my cover off and check on the condition of things in the gearbox.

·
2 stroke enthusiast
6,568 Posts
It could be an internal issue with the gear, but you should check to make sure the cable is properly adjusted. Look up the procedure like adkinsca mentioned.

·
Registered
345 Posts