My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

I'm new to MTF and I could use your help. I'm looking to replace the Kohler CV490S that's on my LT2000. (Yeah, it's really a gonner!)
Small Engine Warehouse lists a B&S for this model, BUT it says that you cannot switch brands without major problems.
Anyone swapped out a Kohler CV490S on an LT2000 lately?

I'm wondering what engine will work without major problems?
Any other "what to watch out for suggestions" are welcome.

Here are a couple of pics, it deserves a second life, it served me well in the past.
(Yeah, I know, it could badly use a power wash)

·
Registered
2,543 Posts
I bought a craftsman with a blown CV490 in 2014. Thread Craigslist LT2000, Blown Kohler
I replaced the engine with a Kohler CV13 from a john deere. It had plenty of power to run the 42 inch deck. When you say it's a gonner, does that mean the rod is broken?
Cannon

·
Registered
4,959 Posts
As Cannon stated, any of the CV13-up single Kohler Commands or the CVS series should be a bolt-on replacement.
I would be looking in my f-book/marketplace or c-list for used candidates.
What have you done to determine it is beyond repair? Is the crankcase being exposed to the sunshine treatment?
Can you list the model number? I think it would be on a tag under the seat. I would like to know the part number for the duct on top of the engine.
tom

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
" . . .does that mean the rod is broken?" "Is the crankcase being exposed to the sunshine treatment? " Hah ha ha, the engine looks brand new, right? No, I didn't let it run out of oil :)
Okay, the engine is probably not beyond repair, but I'm not up to replacing the head gaskets or seating the valves or replacing the ring or something like that (yep, sissy) .
In the past couple of years the starter was struggling to crank the engine and when the engine would start it would belch out a lot of black smoke.