My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to tractors, but just picked up a 180 hour 2004 3235GT.

The power steering is loose -- almost 1/4 turn in steering wheel before noticable movement in wheels.

Is there a way to tighten the steering on this? Nearly all the play seems to come in the steering shaft/box.

There is very little/minimal play in steering knuckles and hydralic piston frame attachment.

Thanks for helping this newbie.

BTW, what's the website for ordering service manuals (not owners manuals)?

Jim

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
I'm new to tractors, but just picked up a 180 hour 2004 3235GT.

The power steering is loose -- almost 1/4 turn in steering wheel before noticable movement in wheels.

Is there a way to tighten the steering on this? Nearly all the play seems to come in the steering shaft/box.

There is very little/minimal play in steering knuckles and hydralic piston frame attachment.

Thanks for helping this newbie.

BTW, what's the website for ordering service manuals (not owners manuals)?

Jim
One possibility:
Get the machine"s full model and serial numbers off the ID plate under the tilting seat pan.. Go to the Cub Cadet website and use their manual request link. They MAY have a service manual .pdf available for that model.

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
The steering should NOT be loose. This is potentially dangerous. Jack-up the front of the tractor and give a tug-test on the:

- Steering linkage
- Hydraulic Cylinder and connecting rod
- Wheels (check for bad bearing)
- loose sub-frame

·
Registered
542 Posts
You've done a great job breaking this down (now that I actually read your note!)..

Does the steering cylinder (Left side of frame just below foot rest) move in and out as soon as you move the wheel? (mine did, but sounds like yours does not)