My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently own a Craftsman GT 3000, 22 hp, 46 in deck (917.273080) for the day-to-day stuff. I'm looking for a project GT I can get cheap and tinker with. I'm new to small engine stuff but the work I've put into my GT has been enjoyable so far. I bought it used when I moved back in May.

My concern is my size. I'm 6' 6" and about 290 lbs. I can drive and use my Craftsman GT, but it is tough steering at times as my knees are almost as far forward as the front of the steering wheel. My BIL said no matter what I get I'll look like a gorilla on a tricycle. Unfortunately that's not far off currently. Since I am in no hurry or particular need for my project GT I can pick whatever I want.

I'm not looking to fan the flames of a brand war, but do remember seeing a thread where someone mentioned their GT was a "tall man's tractor" because it had extra room betweent he seat and the steering wheel (I think). Anyway, I'm fond of the Sears Suburbans from what I've seen/read on MTF. But, I've never driven one. I don't have any real "needs" for this project to fulfill. I would like it to have a decent size deck, say 42+, and I'd like a twin cylinder with 14hp or more. Ability to add a rototiller down the road would be nice but not 100% required.

Let's hear your suggestions. Thanks!

Mike

·
Still plays with tractors
2,285 Posts
I would suggest a Power King or Economy tractor. They are a big man's tractor. Below is a picture of a friend of mine with some family members sitting on three of their pulling tractors. These are some good sized boys and you can see the room they have. I have several of these tractors and I like them because I can stand up comfortably and mow if I get tired of sitting. They are easy to work on and parts are available. Sometimes not cheap you you have to know where to look.

·
Registered
1,995 Posts