My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
972 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my 8237 running and the guy said the sp quit working and he'd been using it as a pusher. The drive shaft isn't turning...

I have no experience with these but I know in order to look at it I have to undeck the motor. If the drive shaft is not moving is that pretty much a symptom of that bronze gear being stripped out? I'm sure this old 'boy (like so many others :banghead3 ) has seen little or no maintenance through its life.

Any help on this would be great before I tear it apart...
Thanks in advance!!

·
2 stroke enthusiast
6,568 Posts
Chances are that gear is worn down causing the issue, but before you pull the engine, remove the case cover on the capstan and have a look around there first.

·
Registered
972 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah thanks...I'm getting a little 'capstan 101' tonight. I just did it like everything else, just tore into it. I didn't realize there was a cable involved even. When it's in the 'drive' position I can see movement between the drive shaft cover and the engine case when I turn the crank and none when it's in 'neutral'. No movement past that to the trans though. I started taking the trans off and decided I'll get back into it in the morning. Looks like a project I wanna be fresh for.

Thanks again...I'll post some pics and results tomorrow.

·
Registered
4,418 Posts
I had the same problem on my 8237 a while back. Problem was that in the drive shaft is a bushing(looks like a square) problem is that over the years these wear out and turn into circles. You have to buy a new bushing. Only a few bucks. That was the problem on my 8237

·
Registered
972 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Now that makes sense. You know how you leave a problem and go do something else for a while and your brain sits and works on the problem for a while...
I was doing that and ima's post makes sense since it was weird the one end was turning and not the other...