My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Purchasing a JD 5095M. 95hp engine rating, 80hp PTO rating.

I am a rank newbie...(am I even in the right forum??)

Will use the tractor for food plot prep, plowing, disking etc.

Will also use for snow plowing, loader work, log skidding, trail maintenance.

Attachments; 3 bottom plow, 8' disk harrow, 8' bucket, front-end snow plow, root grapple & skidding winch.

Combination of field work and woods work. Place is in the mountains in north central VT, so some of the woods work will be on slopes.

Question.... how much rear weight? rear weights or loaded tires? Rim Guard or calcium?

Any informed suggestions are very much appreciated.

·
Deere 330 Killer
17,892 Posts
is youre gonna load the tires, rimguard is the way to go

·
Registered
3,407 Posts
I would deffinitely load the tires. It will stop the rocking and rolling when you get most of the air space out of the tires. At least 150 lbs. of wheel weights wouldn't hurt on a tractor that size. I would load the front tires and get weights on the front.

If it wouldn't bother in the woods I would get the tires as wide as you can for working on the slopes.

·
life is good
1,048 Posts
Rim guard is the way to go.
Enjoy your new tractor and be carefull on those slopes.

·
Just passing through
8,422 Posts
Purchasing a JD 5095M. 95hp engine rating, 80hp PTO rating.

I am a rank newbie...(am I even in the right forum??)

Will use the tractor for food plot prep, plowing, disking etc.

Will also use for snow plowing, loader work, log skidding, trail maintenance.

Attachments; 3 bottom plow, 8' disk harrow, 8' bucket, front-end snow plow, root grapple & skidding winch.

Combination of field work and woods work. Place is in the mountains in north central VT, so some of the woods work will be on slopes.

Question.... how much rear weight? rear weights or loaded tires? Rim Guard or calcium?