My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How bout a thread showing some of your welds. The good the bad and the ugly. No bashing allowed but constructive criticism is welcome.

I am new to this. So far MIG is going well, stick so so and TIG well............errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Here is my latest venture into stick on some Frankenstein hunks of steel for practice. In the first pic., the bit on the top was MIG when I was shutting off the gas to put the machine away and bleed off the gas.

DSCF0013.JPG
DSCF0014.JPG
DSCF0015.JPG
DSCF0016.JPG
DSCF0017.JPG

·
Registered
3,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well last week I found some steel for sale, Paid 45 cent/pound. Don't know if that is good but ended up with 237#s worth. Most was 2" x 16' x 3/16ths. Had to make some brackets and mount near the ceiling out of the way.

Also made a couple brackets to fit on the welding carts to better holds cords and be able to store grinders right on the cart where needed rather than putting away every time. Haven't painted yet since it has been so cold and I don't like to spray paint in the garage with the tractors in there.

Also had an electrician replace the service panel in the garage. The old one never had a problem, but was still utilizing fuses.
DSCF0001.JPG
DSCF0002.JPG
DSCF0003.JPG
DSCF0004.JPG
DSCF0005.JPG
fuses

·
4,801 Posts
That 3rd from last looks like a perfect weld....like Poncho I have welded for a while, but I have a couple of really good welders who work for me ...so I don't have to rely on my skill..because I never got that good at it ....... keep practicing

·
Registered
3,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
@MARK (LI) Thanks, Perhaps it could have had a little more heat, but undercut gets real easy as does more splatter. Having to hold a 3# angle grinder probably doesn't need the ultimate in penetration. As I said before, this is the latest thing that interests me.