My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I am new to the fourm. I just bought an 4x4 XL with the 27Hp Kawaski engine. I have a about a 250 ft drive I will need to clear in the winter. I also have about 20 yards of mulch to spread. So my question is which one do I buy? A Loader? A snowthrower. I would then have to haul the mulch in a cart and load it by hand. So anyone have a loader they use for snow removal? How does it work? Thanks in advance
Jamie

·
Registered
84 Posts
You may think/say that you would only use an FEL for mulch but, once you have it, your back will thank you over and over. I say get the FEL (which by most reports here is twice as expensive as a front snowblower. You don't say whether your dirveway is gravel or paved. After you get the fel, get a cheap rear blade. Best combination for a long, snowy driveway is fel plus rear blade.

·
Registered
1,607 Posts
The blower and hitch lists for about 2K I think and the FEL is around 3,100.00 list.

·
Super Moderator
16,782 Posts
I don't own a Leagacy but have two GT's with front end loaders and my vote is Get a Loader for it First then maybe later on get the blower down the road.

·
Registered
66 Posts
I use my loader exclusively in the winter for moving snow. My guess is that the blower will do a better job move'n snow but will sit collecting dust for 10+ months of the year. The loader does a decent job move'n snow, it's fun and you'll find about another hundred uses for it.

·
Registered
700 Posts
I use the FEL for snow, although admittedly not much around here. It works fine, but as mentioned, gravel drive or paved drive makes a big difference.

You'll find lots of uses for a FEL beyond snow removal and will wonder why you didn't get it long ago.

·
Registered
84 Posts
My drive is paved Will I have to worry about tearing it up