My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been lurking here & on sister sites for a few years now so I thought I'd start a post on my homemade cab for my LA165. Just have to finish the Lexan and re-install & finish up the wiring. A LOT of work but will be worth it in the end. I used different features on cabs I've seen but mostly from this one on the 400 series.

These first pics are of the initial mock up off of my soft cab off of a 300 series that I bought off of another PEI member here. I liked it fine, I just wanted a windshield & the benefits of a solid cab. It started as a project for junior & I. I'm a Millwright by trade & love building things. It make for great shop/beer time lol.

As you can see I shaved quite a bit off of the front by sloping it in but kept the same foot print as the canvas one. I kept the foot petals inside the sloped up unlike the Femco in the pic.

The factory fender flares will be removed for winter to get the cab close to the seat pan. Once spring hits I'm taking the seat pan off & cleaning a couple of rust spots it the foot wells. I'll take it down to sheet metal, then prime & re-paint.

Attachments

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Re: LA165 Cab Build

The back is framed with 1" square tubing attaching to the weight bracket & then to the frame & skinned in 1/8" sheet metal. The doors frames are 1" angle iron so the 3/4" square tubing sits into it. I'll install weather stripping later.

Attachments

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Re: LA165 Cab Build

I wanted the front to completely open to open the bonnet if needed, so I fabricated up these spring loaded latches (nails are temporary as you'll see later lol ). I installed gas shocks to hold it up when open. I bent up a 1/2" rod stock handle to pull it closed. I have a rubber off of a trunk lid from a car to sweep along the top of the bonnet when closed (pics later)