My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,937 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I just acquired a 2010 Kohler Courage 24hp vertical twin repower in a 2007 Craftsman GS6500. The hour meter on the tractor reads 194, but the PO says the engine only has 40 hours.

The engine looks immaculate, and seems to run great. However, when cranking (but not starting, such as a cold or warm start without choke), after several revolutions I can hear what sounds like a knock.

I do a lot of DIY jobs on cars, trucks and tractors, but I'm not a mechanic, so I hope I'm not over-reacting to this sound.

What is the best way to know if this actually is a problem? I don't want it to self-destruct, but I don't know of any local Kohler dealers who I can trust.

Mike

·
Certified Technician
8,420 Posts
Kohler courage twin is basically a no-frills Command with solid lifters, they tend to have a very noisy compression release mechanism that when cranking, and when slowing from being turned off...can make a loud clacking sound.

Check and adjust your valve lash, just for kicks.

·
Premium Member
9,937 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, that makes me feel much better, thanks RED!!!

New problem. Just tried it out in the rough part of the backyard. Did some bushwhacking with the deck, turned the engine in and off a bunch of times for about 20 minutes, no problems.

Now, the starter is making a loud sound, sounds like it's spinning but not cranking the engine.

What's the fix, and how can that be happening on a new engine?

Mike

·
Certified Technician
8,420 Posts
Hmm, does it have the starter with the solenoid mounted to it?

might try to GENTLY tap the starter with a wrench or something, could be the solenoid shifter is stuck...or there could be damage to the gears...no way to know for sure without removing the cowling and taking a look at what is going on.