My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK folks, be easy on me for I'm no tractor expert, but I do have common mechanic skills working on my old ford trucks. Hey, not to knock, but I know if you drive an old ford truck, you know how to mechanic for it's mandatory on occasion. Still love my fords, but very new to the JD tractor world. And electrical especially has always been my weak link...

Also sorry for the long post but I like to get as much info out there from the get-go to see if somebody can pick up on something I might have done wrong / or overlooked. And I have searched these forums with no luck.

So my JD950 stopped charging and so went my battery. At first glance, my battery was 9 years old. Like wow! That's a record for me. If I get 7 or 8 I feel lucky. Anywho, I "assumed" that was the issue and went to get a new battery. At the parts store I learned many things I never knew about batteries. I didn't know but evidently all boats and non-highway batteries are reverse polarity from on-road vehicles. Meaning basically that the positive and negative are opposite. The PO of my tractor built (what looks like non-factory) a battery tray out of wood for the battery up front. And the battery fits exactly within that wood tray. So I knew I needed a battery that was exact size for a quick replacement. So I went straight to the guy at the parts store and he told me about the polarity thing and that all he had was a marine deep-cycle battery that would fit. Deep cycles are all new to me but anywho again...

Brought it home and replaced the battery and still no charge. Hmmm...

Battery charges up. And my battery tester shows a charge from my battery charger when I have it hooked up. Even going round and round, I've took the battery off a couple times now and charged slowly overnight as well. I have faith in my brand new battery and feel 99.9% certain that's not the issue.