My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First time homeowner, first time tractor owner, now first time tractor troubleshooter...

Problem: Got a good deal on a Deere 216 with K341 in what appeared decent shape. Got a season and half out of it running strong and smooth, then one day mysteriously stalled after an hour and would no restart until it cooled down. Now I get the same symptoms every time. First, a few minutes after starting there is a faint "missing" in the firing every few seconds and it gets worse at higher throttle. Second, the governor hunts noticeably for a few seconds every 20 seconds or so. Finally, an hour or so later, it surges hard and returns just as hard, does this 2 or 3 times, dies, and won't restart until it cools down.

I'm a fair-weather mechanic/DIYer and tried a few things before calling in a pro, but problem remains and he "doesn't believe me that it dies because he cut his lawn for an hour with no problem." Ok, so not going back to him. Some things needed done anyhow, so it wasn't a total witch hunt.

Tried so far:
-Fins cleared
-New ignitor
-New condenser
-New points
-New spark plug
-New battery
-New muffler (old one was completely rusted through)
-New fuel line
-New fuse
-Gas cap new when I got it
-Carb cleaned
-Tried adjusting air/fuel

Now for the pro:
He pulls the engine apart. Finds the governor gear is missing a tooth and camshaft is broken. Amazingly, the tractor still ran with this, and we assume this is the culprit. While pulled apart, it also needed a boring and new valves.
-New governor gear
-New camshaft
-New valves
-New piston
-New carb
This is now its third and final boring.

Returned to me. Fires up and sounds good. He claims he cut his lawn with no problems. But after all this, it still fails after an hour.