1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,454 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Long Time Thread Stalker
312 Posts
I would think about it if in the states, but it’s hard to beat the tool truck coming right to the shop weekly with no questions asked warranty

·
4,236 Posts
I don't think so ......I do not consider myself to be a professional, but I own a business and I have pros work for me, and they consider anything from HF to be a joke....personally I consider their stuff to be disposable...it is cheaply made and not professional grade....it is going to be a difficult image for them to overcome

·
Parts collector
3,355 Posts
I love my 54" HF tool box. I have no need for something that big.

If I worked in a garage again I would like the "warranty" guys to be there weekly as I have been there and done that. BUT I have bought stuff that they fixed 3 times and stopped the warranty on something I could have gotten 3 times cheaper and replaced if needed for 1/2 what I paid.

BUT the prices outweigh the benefits. I would love to buy American but it's hard to find, and even snap-on stuff is made in China. So where do you drawl the line?

·
Super Moderator
28,961 Posts
All the Sears stores and anything that sells craftsman are no longer available close to me, NAPA closed down, and only thing really left selling tools is WalMart, Advanced Auto, and O'Rileys, and Ace Hardware; but we now have a small Harbor Freight close by. I don't normally buy their hand tools but those look pretty good! I will have to check them out.

·
Premium Member
74 Posts
I have a couple of the 22x26 US General cabinets. They're heavier steel than my old Craftsman cabinets from the 1980's and the drawer slides are much smoother. I like the shallower drawers for hand tools and the price is right.
Hopefully the introduction of the ICON brand doesn't mean they are discontinuing the US General cabinets as they are actually a good value for the money.