My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My in-laws are dropping off to me my grandparents-in-law's Ingersoll 4020. I haven't seen it but I've been told it sounds like it's running on one cylinder and now won't start.

Where can I locate a service manual for this motor? (Onan, I believe.)
Where can I get parts once I tear into it?

Suggestions for the best way to start tearing into it?

I'm not new to wrenching on motors. I'm new to working on tractors though. I've lurked here a little to gleen some info and find out that this series of tractor is a serious workhorse and worth putting some time into getting it running again.

They took it to a local dealer and they told them $2,000 to fix it but didn't detail what was involved. For less than that price I've seen the Honda 24hp replacement motor and adapters. I'm hoping not to go that route.

·
Registered
4,744 Posts
It could be a broken rod, a stuck valve, a dead spark plug or a defective coil. You know the drill. These are the things to check out.

The parts manual for the tractor, including the engine, can be found for free at http://www.ingersolltractors.com . Just click on the "Illustrated Parts List" link and then find the 4020's by scrolling down the list. Use the serial number of your tractor to pinpoint the correct PDF and then open it.

Yahoo also has an Onan group. Go to Yahoo.com, select "Groups" and search for "Onan".

Your best course of action is to repair the Onan, not repower. The value of the tractor will be higher with the repair should you decide to sell it. Honda makes great engines but potential buyers cannot download an Ingersoll 4020 parts book that has a Honda engine in it. That fact scares people and puts them off your tractor because they don't know how good a job you did when conducting the re-power.

Onan parts are readily available. Ask here for directions.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·