My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Since I haven't been able to find much info on which deere models have the hydro transmission, or when it was first used, or if it was optional to the geared transmission.....I thought I would ask about this.
How can you tell if your mower has a hydro transmission?
Maybe it's a stupid question, but I am kinda new to the whole riding lawn mower world.
Thanks,
Erich

·
AKA Moses Lawnagan
4,642 Posts
All JD riding machines built today have a hydrostatic trans. I don't know when the first one was, sometime in the '70s I think.

Two was to tell if you have a HST:

1-No gear shifter or clutch pedal; usually clutch is on left footboard. Shifter can be on either fender or forward of the seat

2- Two pedals on the right foot board. One for forward, one for reverse. If you don't press either one, you're in neutral, and the HST is designed to hold position, unless you're on an incline. It will still resist movement (it won't start rolling at an incresing rate, but will creep). There will also be a brake pedal above the direction pedals.

Some of the earlier JD HST's had the forward/reverse HST control as a lever on the inst panel, and had individual brake controls, one for each rear wheel. You could just about pivot the tractor on one rear wheel with practice.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi,
Thanks, that means that my SX95 has a gear transmission.
What can I do to corrrect this problem:
I push the clutch pedal (left foot) down and the machine slows down for a minute but then it jumps around in a forward direction. It seems like the clutch doesn't stay engaged or is out of adjustment. I just had both drive belts (primary traction, and secondary traction) changed by a dealer recently.
The brake pedal doesn't work at all, I mean you push it down and it seems to be attached but it has no affect.
I found this out when I flew into the bushes while cutting my lawn.