My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1985 Ford 1510 tractor with hydraulic problems. I can be running a piece of equipment and everything will be fine and all of a sudden the hydraulics will just lose all pressure. The mower deck or bush hog will simply drop to the ground. After a few hours I can fire it back up and everything will be working ok for another hour or two. I’ve added fluid and there appears to be plenty of fluid on the dip stick. I was told there should be about an inch on it.

I’m new to this kind of experience and have never lived on more than a city lot or two. Now I have over 3 acres to take care of so I purchased this tractor primarily for the mowing.
Thanks and any suggestions in trouble shooting are appreciated!

·
22,327 Posts
:MTF_wel2: , William Turner!!

For an implement to suddenly drop to the ground due to losing hydraulic system pressure doesn't compute except for problems with the control valve, or catastrophic failure of a hose or cylinder. Neither of the latter 2 are self correcting, so back to the control valve.

Possible reasons for control valve failure under your stated conditions.

- Accidental bumping of the lever. (Been there, done that!)

- Control valve spool centering spring(s) weak or broken, or o-ring seal requires replacement. (Been there, too!)

- Worn linkage allowing the spool to shift. (Part and parcel with the above springs and seals.)

- System is overheating and needs a cooler or a good exterior cleaning of the transmission, and a fan inspection. (Not normal, but definitely in the running because of the stated conditions.)

I'm not familiar with your tractor so my suggestions are general in nature. Depending on the type of control valve (I only use spool valves and yours may be a different type), disassemble, clean, and inspect for damage. Repair or replace as required.