My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys!

I've got a 149 wide frame, and I want to pick up a snow blower for it. It looks like the blowers were either q42a or q36a models, is that right?

How good were those blowers? Are they worth getting, or are they drastically inferior to a dual stage thrower? I have no experience with blowers, as I've never owned one, even a push model, but shovelling is getting old :)

If the dual stage is drastically better, what are the chances I can mount up a deere or yard machines dual stage to my cub? I know I'd have to make a frame, but a local boneyard has some of those blowers in great shape for cheap.. Are there any plans/prints online with what I'd need to fab to mount one of those up?

Thanks!

~Aaron

·
Super Moderator
16,678 Posts
I use a QA36A every Year Does You 149 Have Hydraulic lift? if It's Manual lift You need to get a wide Frame Spring assist Because Both are Rather Heavy I don't Know How the Original Owner of My 106 Put up with it for 32 Years as a straight Manual Lift I'll say this My single stage QA36A Throws it Rather far and well. I Prefer single stages Myself But That’s all I have ever Used. I have electric Lift which I wish was a Little Faster That the Only Problem I Have with Using the QA36A on My 106

BTW I also used a single stage on a JD 240 for 12 Years In Far Upstate NY

·
1025R FILB Owner
299 Posts
If a 2 stage were available or easily adaptable, I'd say to go with that. However, growing up we had a single stage on our cubs. Pretty sure it was a QA36A. Anyway, only in the really wet, heavy snow would the chute plug up and have trouble with the snow. It worked well to great probably 80% of the time.