My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, newbie here, I have searched the site for a few specific issues with my HT 3813 tractor K1 version, cant really find any answers. But I know there are a bunch of you who know this tractor inside and out. I have it second hand, and have done alot of work on it. I rebuilt the deck and worked on the engine too and now it mows great. Only a couple issues remain.
1.When the tractor is moving the transmission gives off a high pitch whine, it is a MAT trans. Is this a bad bearing or normal thing? The oil seems to be fine in the trans.
2. I changed the timing belt and set the proper deflection, but on idle I hear a slight whine coming from the engine, not super loud but it still concerns me.
3. I mow my lawn in 30-40 minutes, in 3rd gear, grass is not super tall really. But the hood of the tractor becomes very hot as does most of the engine.
Both of the lines to the radiator are of course hot and the overheat alert does not turn on or anything out of the ordinary.

The tractor has been in service for 3 months now, and runs and cuts great. These are just some final concerns I have. Do I need to do more fixing or is this normal?
Thanks

·
Premium Member
630 Posts
All sounds normal. The trans in these are noisy by nature... I have yet to see one that did not have a whine to it. Now having said that, it should not be excessive. The hood does get relatively warm due to the fact the hot air from the rad gets blown right into the engine compartment and then out. Most vert. shaft air cooled engines blow it down and out so you don't get the same heat on the hood.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Awesome! Thanks for the input. I only have one of these machines so I got nothing to compare it to.

·
Registered
231 Posts