My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need some help with this 4 Cycle Honda mower. The governor is not working. It runs wide open. So I need some help with hooking up this governor correctly or getting some new parts. This is how I got it so I have no clue if anything is hooked up right or not. Any diagrams or pictures and explanations would be great. Anyway on to the pictures. Thanks Fella's

·
Registered
1,396 Posts
I'm not a Honda expert by any stretch of the imagination, but your linkage configuration looks just like my GCV160. From the picture it appears to be set up right. Have you tried moving the lowest spring (the one under the shutoff valve) to the other hole? My GCV160 has given me fits since day one. It sounds like a governor issue, but found that it needs carb work. I cleaned it and noticed an improvement, but still not right.

·
Premium Member
128 Posts
I checked mine too, pic below.

P1010890.jpg

I did notice that the governor spring on yours looks different.

Also, how is the shaft from the governor (as it exits the engine block) oriented?
On mine there is a half-notch that is aligned with the governor arm. I'm not sure if that is intentional or not, but I would be curious how yours is timed. Perhaps the arm slipped on the shaft at some point?

GCV gov.jpg

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Looks to me like somebody twisted the governor spring around in the hole on the governor arm, shortening the spring and the governor arm can't move like it should. You could try to straighten it out so that the "hook" (I can see the shadow of it against the engine block in the picture) catches in the governor arm hole, or pick up a new one, they're not very expensive.

·
Registered
2,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks fellas. Thanks for the pics. I am thinking my spring isn't the correct one. As it doesn't have any tension on or off. I hope together to this mower soon.

·
Premium Member
5,747 Posts