My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I recently was tasked with needing to move my boat with my lawn tractor and after thinking for a while this is what i came up with. i would like to get some opinions on my work. I'm just learning to weld with a small arc welder so the welds are not pretty but they work.:thanku:
http://i254.photobucket.com/albums/hh115/bran95/Photo049.jpg[/IMG
[IMG]http://i254.photobucket.com/albums/hh115/bran95/Photo048.jpg

·
Lindeman crawler fan
2,704 Posts
The construction of the dolly looks good but I don't understand why you would need one ?
Wouldn't it be easier to just mount a hitch ball on the tractor and hook the boat trailer directly to the back of the GT ?
I know it would sure make it easier to back the trailer up with it hooked right on the tractor.

·
Registered
2,819 Posts
The construction of the dolly looks good but I don't understand why you would need one ?
Wouldn't it be easier just mount a hitch ball on the tractor and hook the boat trailer to the back of the GT ?
I know it would sure make it easier to back the trailer up with it hooked right on the tractor.
if the boat is real heavy it will pick up the front and of a light mower in a second, mine did it to my murry all the time, never to the snapper

it looks good, lets see it in action ...... it will take a bit to get used to 2 piviots, its not to hard:fing32:

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
yes it probably would have but i didn't want to have to weld or mount anything on the back of my mower nor did i want all the weight tongue weight on the back of the mower plus i can leave it hooked to the boat so so when mowing all i have to do is back up drop the pin and go instead of have to jack the boat down on the ball and everything plus that doesn't limit me to moving it with just one mower. and it is awkward to back up at first until u get use to it.

by the way I'm only 14 years old

·
Registered