My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I built this target thrower 15 years ago, it made our shooting 10x's more fun and enjoyable. got the idea out of a catalog...

It doesn't move a bit when the target gets set loose, stays put like it were concreted in the ground.. I built it so it's seat is as high as a kitchen chair. The shelf welded to the side is a target box holder, it's worked out well too.

Friends of all proportions have thrown targets on it and not one has complained about the seat's distance to the thrower, I must have got it just right. I was going to weld two pieces of 2" angle iron to the plate the seat mounts to and drill hole a through the angle Irons and drill a few holes along the beam for some adjustment but where it sets has never been a problem for anyone.

Friends say it needs a tube down the back of the thrower's mounting plate.... I'm not an engineer but I thought it needed some place to give up up and down forces and to absorb vibrations so I didn't weld a rear brace to the throwers mounting plate.

Good shooting guys. :fing32:

Attachments

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ken N Tx it's always nice to hear the shooting sports are alive and being passed on to a new generation. One of the biggest kicks at being a grandfather for me is hearing my young grandsons always ask first for a new gun for their birthday's and Christmas.

I got the 10 year old a BB gun last year for his birthday and he loves it like I did mine. We always carried our BB guns where ever we went, like the cowboys on TV did. Back then when America was less diverse seeing a kid carrying a gun down the street was seen as a normal healthy young boys activity. Today's gang trash has ruined it for the good guys.

He's been trained, wears safety glasses and goes out in the woods and fields with it on his own now. :fing32:

·
Banned
12,901 Posts