My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm new to all of this tractor business. My wife and I have a small horse facility. We know horses, but the farm side of it is all new.

We have Kubota L3600 tractor with an LA680 loader. There were a few attachements laying around the farm when we bought it. One of these was a big old snowblower. I dragged it into the barn and cleaned it up. It still needs to be painted, but other than that, it seems to work fine.....that is until I'm put into the mix.

What is the trick for using an attachment like this? I seem to keep breaking the shear bolt when I put it into gear. I'm sure it is all operator error, but I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

Any help would be great.

Thanks in advance,
Dave

·
MTF MEMBER
185 Posts
when you go to engage the pto do you have the tractor at idle ? if not there is a good chance that it would brake the shear bolt when you engage the pto if you do have the tractor at idle when you engage the pto and it is braking you got something somewhere on the blower binding or caching or it could be that you don't have the proper shear bolt there are different grades of bolts used for shear bolts depending on the implement and amount of force it is designed to take before braking the shear bolt

·
life is good
1,048 Posts
Lile buba said there may be something binding, can you turn all the parts by hand? That will help guide you to what may be hanging up. G'luk

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies from both of you.

I can turn the auger by hand. I've engaged the pto and set the rpms to the correct level. The auger turns fine. When I push the clutch of the tractor, the auger stops. Then I put the tractor into gear and try to slowly release the clutch. This is when I usually break the shear bolt.

My tractor has glide shift.

Does this help you to understand?

·
MTF MEMBER
185 Posts