My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a used 2002 X585 and the hood becomes superheated after running for about fifteen minutes. I ran it with the hood open and discovered that the exhaust pipes coming from the head are bright orange while running! Any ideas on how to fix this problem. :praying:
Thanks

·
Registered
573 Posts
Sounds like it is running too lean.
Is that one fuel injected or carb?
If it's a carb the high and or low speed may need richened up a bit.
Is the air filter clean? How long has it been since the fuel filter has been replaced?
Check the vent on the fuel cap to make sure it is not clogged.

·
Premium Member
5,747 Posts
If the pipes are that hot in daylight, and the engine still runs OK, (or so you think) I would suspect the timing is retarded. If it was that lean, it wouldn't have any useable power. Since I'm by no means a JD expert, I'll suggest that if it's air cooled, make sure the cooling system is clean.

·
USMC
19,146 Posts
You need to get a tune up ASAP. Is the water pump working? Have you ever flushed out your cooling system. Had the valve clearances checked? slkpk

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the advice I will give it another try tomorrow!

Maverick- It is Fuel injected. I just replaced the fuel and air filter. The vent is also clear on the fuel tank.

rscurtis- The engine actually sounds great and has plenty of power for mowing. The machine is liquid cooled.

farmer- How do I tune up a EFI engine? Any help would be appreciated.

slkpk- The water pump appears to be functioning properly. I will flush the cooling system and check the valve clearances tomorrow too.

Thanks again for all your help please keep the ideas flowing. I will give you guys an update sometime tomorrow.

·
Registered
1,917 Posts