My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am kinda new to the world of Deere lawnmowers but very interested.
What is the significance of LA, LT, LX, STX, GX ,X , SX, SRX, GX, RX etc?
And what about the deere models that don't have a prefix, like the 110 , 140, 332, etc?
I know this may be a stupid or common question, but I can't figure it out.
Thanks
Erich

·
Citizen of Earth
15,291 Posts
It's more than 45 years of trying to come up with different model numbers for machines.

·
Registered
476 Posts
I have a question. Where does the GT255 fit in the scheme of things? The lady our family helps take care of has one to mow with, and there is a snow thrower also (which I have never seen used.) I got to use it (mow) myself the other day, and quite like it, would like to know it's capabilities. My only other JD experience is with an 850 our church camp uses with a belly mower on about 10 acres. I got real good at even trimming around all the trees with that one, big as it is.

·
Citizen of Earth
15,291 Posts
I have a question. Where does the GT255 fit in the scheme of things? The lady our family helps take care of has one to mow with, and there is a snow thrower also (which I have never seen used.) I got to use it (mow) myself the other day, and quite like it, would like to know it's capabilities. My only other JD experience is with an 850 our church camp uses with a belly mower on about 10 acres. I got real good at even trimming around all the trees with that one, big as it is.
The GT255 is a middle level garden tractor, can be fitted with a rear sleeve hitch for garden tools, blow or plow snow, good all around machine for mulitple uses. Not as heavy duty as the GT300 series, but stronger than a lawn tractor.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Would I be correct to assume that GT stands for garden tractor? Or at least did it during the time the the GT series was in production?
Thanks,
Erich

·