My Tractor Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about Tractors? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Some background:
I've been mowing this for about 3 years with a new JD E140. It's been doing a fine job tackling the hills.

Recently I had some surging problems, then the governor broke leaving it full throttle. So I got that fixed, then the mechanic replaced the carburetor... now it can barely make it up the hill anymore. He rigged up the wrong carburetor since he couldn't find the right one.

In trying to decide whether to throw good money after bad, I came across this forum and some threads about hills, and now I'm worried perhaps - even if we got this mower back in working order - it may be a ticking time bomb due to pushing the transmission so hard.

In short: I'm worried even if we get the power back in the E140, it's just a short matter of time before we have to replace the transmission.

The choices:

The options I'm evaluating are...

A. just use the E140 and hope to get enough years of use out of it that I don't regret not selling it before it crapped out
B. new Husqvarna TS 348XD (K66). This seems like the best long-term option in my budget?
C. new Husqvarna with a K58. Cheaper than "B" but more likely to cause problems down the road?
D. Something like an x300 with a K46 - probably new (see criteria below - namely I don't have confidence/knowledge to buy used).
E. A used x500 with low hundreds of hours, or a used x700 with high hundreds of hours. This seems to be the forum's favorite choice, but I don't have the patience/time/knowledge/experience to tinker, repair, or even evaluate it to be honest.

Criteria:
$5k is the tentative budget. I will do basic seasonal maintenance (filters, oil, draining gas) but will pretty much never repair it. It'll have to be trailered to a mechanic.