My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all my fellow tractor owners !

I grew up on a farm in the Appalachian foothills of southern Ohio. In the early 1950s, my Dad began farming on a 120 acre farm, starting with horses ! At age 11 he became man of the house when his father died in 1922. He had to farm 100 acres in Kentucky and raise the younger brothers. So starting with horses he was familiar with. His first tractor shortly thereafter was a Ford Jubilee. By late 1960s it was a Ford 2000. Growing up on the farm, I was a tractor driver of course !

My first professional job was in Houston, Texas. When we moved to small acreage in Minnesota in 1993, I bought a cleaned up and painted John Deere Model A, 1951 model, from a guy in Howard Lake, Minnesota. I bought it with a mid-mount Woods Mower on it. I mowed 5 acres with it for a few years. Then we moved to Texas, I backed it up inside a moving van (18 wheeler). The driver had me back it up over a stack of blankets onto the elevated platform at the very front of the trailer. Thanks to low RPM and that sensitive hand clutch, it was no problem at all.

I continued to mow 6 acres in Texas with that rig for about 20 years. One cylinder had a hairline crack. Despite that, it would start reliably in temperatures over 50 F. I sold it to a guy who was restoring tractors. It has the 12 V positive ground electrical system and the Roll-A-Matic front end.

The John Deere A was replaced with a John Deere 850 (3 cylinder Yanmar, 1983 model) with a 3 point hitch (Now we're getting modern). At this point I used a tow behind Kioti mower that I still use today. With the 3 point came a selection of implements that were welcome for working on driveway, planting frees, and other things.