My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Red Tractor Fan
1,704 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought I would share this review for those who may want to spray their next project.

This is the gun I am reviewing: http://www.harborfreight.com/20-oz-high-volume-low-pressure-gravity-feed-spray-gun-47016.html

I broke my nice spray gun from when I painted cars for a living and had to buy something to paint my son's tool box. I am still an ASE certified auto painter, so keeping that in mind for the review....

I am impressed with the gun that I paid just over $10.00 for (20% coupons always in the company car!) :fing32: The paint is not be best to spray, I used the Tractor Supply Valspar, which tends to be more of a "mix till it sprays good, over a pre-set mix ratio" kind of paint. Out of the box, the gun sprayed quite well although there was a slight leak at the cup. Not enough to drip, just enough to get on the gun. I guess teflon tap would seal it just fine, but I have never done so on a paint gun before. The gun sprayed well, and the controls work very nice. I found it very easy to lay out a good paint job with no runs. (Common on poor guns if the air holes are not drilled good. It can change your fan pattern and make it heavy on one side.

This one gets a thumbs up and even a little over the top which I did not expect!

PS, I bought the smaller touch up gun for spraying small parts which I hope works just as well. We shall see when I get a chance to use it. I expect it would be awesome for painting rims and it will see first use on the John Deere wheels.

·
Retired Super Moderator - Deceased September 2015
26,679 Posts
:thanku: been looking at that one! Guess now I will get it and try it out!:fing32:

·
Registered
353 Posts
Affirmative on the thumbs up for both the 20 oz gun and the smaller trim gun.:fing32: