My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Over the weekend I found an old ariens 6 hp blower on the curb with a sign that said free, has spark.

I pulled the motor and opened the crank case to find pieces of the rod all over. Additionally the throttle cable is frozen stiff. If the rod is all that is bad I will replace it and reassemble (maybe?). However the crank is scored and I have no idea if the scoring makes the crank unusable as I have never done this before.

What is more likely is that I will buy a Predator replacement engine from Harbor Freight. The mounting bolts line up and the shaft is the same size as the Tecumseh that came off the blower. I'm hoping it will bolt up and accept the original pulley with no fabrication required.

Has anyone here done this or a similar re-power?

What level of fab/modification might I need to do to make this work? The only thing I can think of is the need to add guards for the belt to keep it from coming off.

·
Certified Technician
8,420 Posts
Over the weekend I found an old ariens 6 hp blower on the curb with a sign that said free, has spark.

I pulled the motor and opened the crank case to find pieces of the rod all over. Additionally the throttle cable is frozen stiff. If the rod is all that is bad I will replace it and reassemble (maybe?). However the crank is scored and I have no idea if the scoring makes the crank unusable as I have never done this before.

What is more likely is that I will buy a Predator replacement engine from Harbor Freight. The mounting bolts line up and the shaft is the same size as the Tecumseh that came off the blower. I'm hoping it will bolt up and accept the original pulley with no fabrication required.

Has anyone here done this or a similar re-power?

What level of fab/modification might I need to do to make this work? The only thing I can think of is the need to add guards for the belt to keep it from coming off.