My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 253 Posts

·
Administrator
21,127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, this topic has been tossed around a couple of times in various forms, but thought I would bring it back up. I wonder who all is involved in Radio Communications in one form or another. I know there are a few hams on here, as well as professional radio personnel.

I am a Ham Radio Operator. I mostly operate on 2 meters, but do have capacity for HF as well. For those of you not familiar with these terms, 2 meters is just below where the police used to operate and just above where airplanes communicate. It's approximately 144.000 mHz (megahertz, megacycles, etc) up to 148.000 mHz. Just about any scanner that is programmable can pick up this frequency range. For the most part, the operators work thru a "repeater" to extend the range of their signal. Maybe 10 miles direct to more than 100 miles thru the repeater. The other term, HF, stand for High Frequency. It starts just above where your AM radio stops and goes on up past the CB range.

Anyway, I like to work in public events such as foot races, walks, bicycle races, simulated nuclear disasters, etc. This helps train new people and old alike in the proper way to communicate in a way that gets it said in the fewest amount of words necessary, but gets the meaning across without fail. Sort of a KISS format. There's many times in disasters that one public service group (police, red cross, army, fire dept., etc) needs to communicate with another group. Problem?? Their radios are not compatible.