My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I am new to home ownership and to lawn mowing. We just bought 2.6 acres of gently sloping lawn and a John Deere LA145 to mow it. I like the machine so far (6 hours of use) but I have some questions:

1) The grass has to be VERY dry or else the bagger unit clogs up. Is this normal? It is a pain having to reach under with a stick to unclog things.

2) What is the best way to mow? Should I go clockwise or counterclockwise? Assuming that I was doing a big rectangle, should I alternate directions on each pass mowing?

Thanks in advance. This looks like a nice place!

·
Registered
2,181 Posts
:MTF_wel:

At this time and the conditions we have at the moment I won't even consider putting my non power flow bagger on, its just to much to keep unplugging it for me. Enjoy the site!

·
Registered
264 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
I've never used a bagger, but yea, if the grass is wet, it WILL stick & clogg things up. I always mow throwing the cut grass in where I'll run over it again, that mulches it up enough for us.

·
9K+ Poster
12,160 Posts
Welcome to the forum! :Welcome1: Bagging looks great, but is a lot of work. You might like the mulch kit better. :)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the welcome and the tips!

So, what exactly is entailed with mulching? My wife really wants the clippings for composting. But this mulching sounds good to me. I've read about a "mulch plug" and special blades. What is the deal with that?

Also, is it ok to ride over the piles of clippings thrown out the side? Or does that cause any problems?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
:MTF_wel:

At this time and the conditions we have at the moment I won't even consider putting my non power flow bagger on, its just to much to keep unplugging it for me. Enjoy the site!
It HAS been very wet. Under what circumstances WILL you use the bagger? Like, how many days without rain?

·