My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently acquired an L8 in addition to some other gravely equipment. I have an issue putting a fire to it. I cleaned the carb, replaced the condense, cleaned the points, replaced the plug wire, and gapped the plug. I cant get it to fire. if i have the plug out, and cover off the mag and hold the end of the wire on the coil i get a spark when i hit the button. as soon as i put the cover back on the spark is gone. As an industrial electrician i'm not your average joe when it comes to testing stuff. I megged the cover and its not grounded there are no visible cracks in the plastic. what am i missing

·
Premium Member
4,517 Posts
Please clarify "hit the button". Is this an electric-start unit? Do you mean when you hit the starter button, and the engine turns over, you get a spark?

:wwp:

Reactions: ultane

·
Registered
672 Posts
Yes, I thought a magneto was a "generator" of sorts and had to be moving to generate a spark? I was a industrial electrician for about 26 years myself. Could not stand those concrete floors anymore so I moved to more of a facility type electrician now.

·
Premium Member
4,517 Posts
a "generator" of sorts
Basically, yes.

It doesn't generate continuous current. It does whip a magnet past a coil to generate a pulse of current which energizes the condensor. It does need to be spinning to generate a spark.

·
Daryl G
902 Posts
m1garand762,