My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Gravely word and I have a Commercial 430 and after a lot of time and patience I got it running.:tango_face_smile:. The problem I am having is the high and low gears well not shift. When the unit is off the lever well not go up or down. I have read the service manual but it was not helpful. I was hoping some one here could point me in the right direction. This is a Onan Engine Model # NB-MS/1847A.

·
Super Moderator
10,904 Posts
I wish I could help, but I have never opened up a swiftamatic transmission. Normally I would say to check the linkage to make sure that there isn't something that is binding it up. I know that I usually need to feather my 430's transmission slightly between forward, and neutral in order for my hi/low to go back into high range. Not being able to move your shifter at all when your tractor is off sounds like an internal problem, unless perhaps, your other linkages are so far off in adjustment. Just (maybe unfounded) conjecture on my part though.

There are several 2 wheeler owners here who would have more knowledge of your (and my) transmission as your transmission was also used on 2 wheeler tractors during this timeframe. Maybe they can offer some advice.

Just an afterthought, and FWIW, have you tried moving the hi/lo shifter while rocking the tractor back, and forth slightly?

·
Super Moderator
10,904 Posts
I found this youtube vid today. As I mentioned, although this is a 2 wheeler tractor, it has the same "Swiftamatic" transmission as is used on your 430.

Although his problem is slightly different than yours, you will get a good look at the inner workings of the hi/low shifter assy. He did solve his problem by restoring the full range of travel of his shifter assy. Yours could be stuck between the 2 ranges for some reason.