My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the forum. Saturday, I was using my Gravely 546 to push a little dirt. It was running great as always. After about 10 minutes it just shut down like turning off the key. At first it would start and idle but would die when I gave it the least bit of fuel. It has fuel and it has fire. I am not a master mechanic but have some knowledge. Would anyone have any suggestions where I might start? Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
3,461 Posts
Did it turn over easily with the starter after this happened, or was it turning over slower than normal or just barely?
Does it start if you let it sit and cool off?

·
Premium Member
4,321 Posts
Clogged fuel line/filter?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It seems to turnover just as it always has. It sat from Saturday to Monday. Tried to start it Monday and it wouldn't even cough. Pulled the plug and it has fire. Fuel pump is delivering fuel.

·
Premium Member
3,461 Posts
All I can suggest is to
-do a compression check
-maybe the carb is plugged
-maybe something has busted so the timing is off (either for the valves or the ignition

·
Premium Member
4,321 Posts
Clogged/stuck needle valve? Jets filled with crud?

Try shooting a little carb cleaner in the inlet while cranking. Even if no fuel is making it to the carb, or everything is totally clogged such that nothing is getting into the cylinder, that should get some coughs and a few hits out of it.

If it tries on carb cleaner, and you're sure there's fuel getting to the carb, your next step is to pull the carb apart to see what's going on in there.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #9