My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Small Engine Tech
1,481 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you frequent the other brand forums, mainly the cub cadet one, then you know I am a mechanic for a local Cub Cadet/Hustler dealer. A few months ago we had a guy bring in a wreck of a 4212h lawn tractor. Nice tractor other than a bunch of cuts with a knife in the plastic dash console trying to find a wiring problem that didnt exhist. Engine was locked up, key switch was melted down. He ended up buying a new lt1042 Cub Cadet and left the old Simplicity with us, boss gave him nothing for it. It has sat at the back of the lot in the dead line till this last week. I brought it in with the fork lift and took the engine off the frame. When I took a pipe wrench to the crank pulleys, I was able to turn the engine over, but with a stiff spot at TDC. I pulled the head and it had a thick layer of carbon at the bottom of the bore that was squished by the piston against the head. It also had a crank case full of gas. Got over 3 quarts of oil/gas out of the crank, and I decarboned the head and piston/valves. New oil, new head gastet and a full carb rebuild and she runs like a champ. Had the boss's son weld a new end cap on the muffler and mend a broken deck hanger. We still havent come to a price for the tractor, but its here at my house and I cut the yard with it tonight. I did add a new deck belt and have 4 new deck rollers on order. So, investment wise, he only has my time, a belt, headgasget and deck rollers. Most of the time spent was my lunch hours and down time when nothing else was there to work on, but I still had to be there. I am on the hunt for a snowblower and a better console top and bottom, the rest of the tractor is really clean, deck looks hardly used. Lights work but run directly off the stator output instead of the battery, so I need to fix that and get them up to full brightness. I think with a custom sleeve hitch, she would handle my small 6" moldboard plow, tha