My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon.
I'm a newbie with an 'oldie' Kubota.

I have a 1986 G6200, 16hp diesel w/48 deck.
It runs and cuts great for 15 minutes or so, but then will bog down if blades are engaged. If I stop moving and/or disengage blades, I can 'catch' engine and keep from stalling, but it will continue to bog if blades are engaged and tractor is in motion. Tractor does not need to be actually cutting for it to bog down, the blades just need to be engaged and tractor moving. If I shut down tractor and let it cool, I can get another 15 good minutes out of it, then bogging returns. Temp is fine, nowhere near running too hot per guage. Could this be caused by belt heating up and slipping? Any other ideas? Whatever help you could provide is appreciated!
PS - thanks to Sargeant for recomending this forum. TONS of info here!

·
Machinery enthusiast
4,257 Posts
Welcome aboard sjazz23.
My 1st swag would be a safety switch but I'm not sure your yr/model has them.
Sounds like the trouble starts once the engine warms up to it's operating temp -or- heats up too hot.
A couple questions:
Ok after rereading your post I'll try again. (somehow I missed where you said it was a diesel)....

1) 2nd swag, contaminated fuel. Did this start after a recent refill?
2) is it overheating when it starts to bog down?
3) the air filter could be clogging up, when was the air filter last changed out?
4) the fuel filter could be clogging up, when was the last time the fuel filter was changed out?
5) is the radiator clear and free of debris.

Sometimes the easy checks will clear it up.
Let us know

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Volfant,
Thanks for the reply!
You are correct - no safety switches (which I must say at the risk of being politically incorrect, is nice, although I do realize they serve a greater purpose!)

Responses to your responses: