My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to buy a new lawn mower but im new to riders. I live in the suburbs but there are still very large lawns here. I am really looking at a toro rear engine 8hp right now. I like it because it looks munuverable. BUT.....I also want to use it to pull my other walking lawnmowers and edgers around from job to job and maybe some light snow plowing (I also have 3 snow blowers too though). So pretty much here is what im asking. Either buy a rear engine that will be better for mowing or buy a front engine thats better for towing and plowing but way less agile and way less gas efficient. Thanks alot

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
I would buy the front engine. I don't think a RER will have the weight and traction you will need for pulling a trailer and plowing. Are you looking at new or used?

Jason

·
Murray tractor owner
2,672 Posts
Deffinatly a front- engine tractor. Way better for plowing or get a blower for it. My murray will turn realy tight and so does my grandpa's deere.

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks! im looking at them used but "refurbished" (like new). So am I wrong about the turning factors. I wont be mowing lawns that are all that huge and can the rear engines just not tow at all? Thanks alot im new to this

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Also is 450 a good price for a 8hp toro rear engine rider from the late 80's early 90's? Also would it help any if i got a 12 hp for the rear engine rider. or still just not enough traction?

·
Murray tractor owner
2,672 Posts
Also is 450 a good price for a 8hp toro rear engine rider from the late 80's early 90's? Also would it help any if i got a 12 hp for the rear engine rider. or still just not enough traction?
Horsepower is nothing it is all about weight. A RER doesnt have a factory hitch or blade/ blower. I'd look at the JD LX ot LT series.

·
Registered
409 Posts

·
Registered