My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,
Thanks for the warm welcome. I am new to tractors but have always lusted after one for decades- but just havent had the need to purchase one until now. My wife and I have purchased our first home. Its a nice place in the country. It has three or so acres, some woods, some orchard, a pond, a ravine and a barn! After renting for a dozen years we finally have a place of our own.

HOWEVER...my Murray 42" garden tractor is not up to the task of mowing the field which is approx 2 acres of thick grass on a slope. I killed it with just two mows. RIP. The property is a combination of many gradiated slopes for drainage as well as hillside retention.

In my research I have decided against another garden tractor. I just dont think they will be as useful as a full sized tractor. I really like the versatility of running a brush hog, sickle bar mower, as well as plowing and moving machinery- I am also a metal sculptor and have heavy metal sculptures in the works that could benefit the use of a tractor.

Originally I was thinking of a Ford 8n as their cost is right around what I can afford and they are plentiful and repairs are easily accomplished. I am also a good wrench on vehicles and machinery.
But, I dont like the idea of the PTO being one that isnt live and can drive the tractor further with momentum of a PTO tool. Also the lack of ROPS terrifies me. Years ago I witnessed a rollover which resluted in a serious injury and dont want that to happen to me or my children to see.