My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1979 ford 545 TLB,with a 3cyl 201ci Gas motor. I just went thru rebuilding the engine and doing extensive repairs on the machine. I am a Mechanic by trade with about 30yrs under my belt, though this is the 1st tractor I have been involved in.....Ok about the Tractor now, I live in NY and she was a victim of Sandy's wrath here on the east coast, so I picked her up for little more the price of scrap metal . Engine needed to be rebuilt and all hydraulics needed to be flushed, no prob (I thought) I split the machine ,disassembled the motor ,sent the block , the head and the Crank to the machine shop, pistons went .040 over ,block was bored ,head needed a valve job and the crank just needed a polishing. The parts were all ordered thru the machine shop (nothing OEM) ,so I get back the parts and assemble the motor ....everything seems to go together fine.I would also like to add I am a firm believer in using a Factory repair manual to do any job. So now I fight the machine back together (anybody who has reassembled a ford that you need to have the Torque converter bolted to the flywheel before mating the engine to the tranny will know what I mean) I finish the job and now its time for the moment of truth............. she fires up on maybe the 2nd revolution and sounds like........." Victory", yeah a little tapping from the rockers ,but with solid lifters thats to be expected. I run her in the shop going thru a few heating and cooling cycles and start to hear a dunk ,dunk ,dunk ,dunk at idle , I figure its just those *** large solid lifters as I still hadn't readjusted the valves. Well I ran out of time and now the trucking company comes to pick up the machine and bring it to Upstate Ny to my property there (the reason I bought it in the 1st place) All goes well ,the machine gets there ,I meet them and get in the machine to bring it to my property ,she fires right up ,I warm her u