My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
897 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using Fluid Film for several years on my truck to keep the rust from coming back as best as I can. It seems to do a fairly good job. For those who don't know, Fluid Film is a lanolin (sheep's wax) based, non-toxic, non drying, gel like rust inhibitor and lubricant. It is largely used as an undercoating on vehicles.

Ever since I began plowing snow with my tractor a few years ago, I've notice the rust has accelerated and I've even replaced the fender pan and done a fair amount of repainting to keep up with it. I don't know how much longer this machine is going to last me or how long I will keep it before I upgrade to something bigger but I'd hate to lose it to rust and I'd like to protect my investment as best I can.

I think it would be wise to undercoat it especially around the foot rest area and the back of the frame where there is no oily engine parts to prevent any rust.

In the spring I would probably have to pressure wash the fluid film off because the dust and dirt kicked up by the deck would make a real mess underneath.

I'm curious if anyone else has used fluid film on their tractor and how it has worked in lawn and garden tractor applications.

·
Registered
114 Posts
I’ve started putting it under lawnboys but I haven’t used any that I’ve coated yet. I too am curious to hear if anybody has had any luck with it.

·
Premium Member
2,930 Posts
I haven't found anything that lasts a significant amount of time under a mowing deck (fluid film, honey goo, wd40, graphite spray, paint. POR15 might last some time, but I would expect even it will get cut up by debris, and then peeled off when scraping the deck clean of built up grass.