My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
MasterBuilder in training
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently completed the majority of my FEL build for a Husqvarna GT48XLSi. I'm a computer/IT guy by trade and picked up welding last year. Built a few accessories to drag behind my mower and after breaking a few of my contraptions, I found this site and started reading. Of course once I saw a FEL on a garden tractor, I decided I needed to build one. After blowing up the motor on a John Deere SST16, I bought the Husqvarna GT48XLSi and immediately began planning the FEL build. I have a Ferris Z2100 for mowing grass and the Deere/Husqvarna were really for doing everything else, including moving dirt where I wanted it, which was an ongoing battle in my back yard. I get alot of runoff from a field and it cuts a 3' deep washout in the back that I need to move dirt around to fill. Thus the contraptions that broke and now the FEL.

I read through many posts by Tudor and read through RidgeStalkers build a few times, then started ordering parts and welding things together. Attached are a couple of pics of the before/after of the Husqvarna. I'll add a few more posts here with a few pics of the different stages of the build, but I didn't get many pics throughout the process and do better at answering questions than writing well thought out posts.

I have a counterweight mounted on the back of it currently and I'm planning on a hydraulic hitch, wheel weights, power steering, ROPS, smaller bucket and a few other things for next summer.

Let the questions fly and I'll try to post information on the materials and different parts of the build.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
15,386 Posts