1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Premium Member
31,653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Name:
Mike

Where do you live?
I live in southern Worcester County, MA.

Story behind screen name (mikeinri)?
Ironically, I lived in MA when I picked that name, but I had lived in RI for most of my life, until we moved here 12 years ago. Sort of a take on Sleepless in Seattle (although I never saw that movie).

Are you married?
Yes, going on 13 years.

Do you have any children?
Yes, two boys aged 7 and 11.

Boys and Wood 2017.jpg

Do you have any grandchildren?
Not yet, got married way too late in life. Hopefully someday, but I figure my boys will still be in college around the time most people retire, so who knows?

What do you do to earn a living?
My title says I’m an engineer in the biotech industry. My actual job duties make me more of a project manager or director. It’s not as fun as it sounds…

How old are you?

Military service?
Not me personally. I grew up on the backside of the Vietnam War, and I’ll just say that I’m glad our country has learned from that, and that we now treat returning soldiers with an entirely different level of respect. My Dad was in the Army (volunteered for two tours in the Army Corps of Engineers in Vietnam, followed by something like 12 years in the Army National Guard). I also had two uncles who served in the Navy, one in the Air Force and one in the Marines (all Vietnam era). Both grandfathers served in the Navy, at least one during WWII. So it goes without saying, I have huge respect and thanks for all of those who have served.

How did you come to join MTF?
I’d been lurking for years, looking up info to fix stuff on my first tractor (Craftsman DLT3000). I think I eventually had a specific question to ask, that I couldn't find an answer for just by searching.

What are your favorite MTF forums and why?