My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
877 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I may have asked this before but I forgot ( I have CRS) What is the speed difference between cable and DSL?
Rodster

·
m-ODD-r8r
2,357 Posts
In general, cable is faster than DSL. It's also more readily available than DSL (something about a maximum distance from a telephone 'station'/whatever).

My download speed is ~4Mb/s. Most DSL is around 1Mb/s.

·
Registered
8,508 Posts
Cable generally offers greater speed that DSL. But some will say DSL speeds are more consistent.

DSL ranges from 256kb to 3.0 mb/s. I've been subscribing to 768/128 for almost five years, and I am happy with the service. Like anything else, sometimes I wish it was faster, but for just browsing it is just fine.

You will get varying opinions which service is better. Most have to do with the provider. Here's a good link. BroadbandReports.com

·
A day ahead of y'all..
4,597 Posts
I just got DSL from Verizon...and love it. Could never go back to dial-up. It also opens doors up to easy networking in the home.

My speed runs about 1400/380 pretty consistantly.

·
Registered
33 Posts
The 2 main differences are:

1.) With DSL you are buying unshared bandwidth (to a certain extent). Cable is shared at at least your neighborhood level.

2.) Cable does not suffer the distance limitations DSL, therefore making it more widely available.

About point #1, ALL bandwidth is shared at one point in the pipe or another. with DSL you are buying unshared speed to the (let's say) Verizon "system". In this case you should get very close to your speed caps to anything Verizon hosts. With cable, you are on a local node type system. You are running shared bandwidth with your neighbors and there is no guarantee of speed you'll receive. I've been lucky with Comcast and have not been in an area that has been oversubscribed, but I have heard the horror stories.