My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. Brand new to this forum. Actually it's my very first forum I've ever been a part of.

I have a 5 year old DS4510 Kioti tractor. Although I am mechanically inclined I'm not a mechanic so I'll try and explain my issue as best as I can.

I turn the ignition left to activate the glow plugs. Then right and the tractor normally starts up quickly.

When I activate the glow plugs I hear a click from under the hood and the glow plug light indicator on the dash lights up. Another click when I deactivate the glow plug warmer by turning the key back to the right.

I always get whitish smoke from the exhaust on a cold start anyting below 15F? Is this normal?

Next issue my tractor is not starting. When turning key left to activate glow plugs I hear that distinct click and a second later another click which I have never heard before (normally click on and then click off. It's two clicks when on). The dash indicator light is still on however. I turn the key to crank the engine and it just cranks and cranks and cranks no ignition.

This is my first tractor and I was told by the previous owner when the temperatures are below 14F to preheat the glow plugs by turning the key left for 20 seconds. Then start. Is this correct or have I been preheating them too long and I have damaged or burnt out the glow plugs?

Next issue and please don't laugh too hard is where are my glow plugs? I see the air filter see a couple of other things but I don't see ignition wires. Is there a complete engine cover, like those plastic things in a car, to expose the main block and wires?

Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
Welcome to MTF