My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an engineer. I have an X300 that breaks belts. I have researched every tech article on the subject. I have replaced the mechanical pieces with Deere parts, I am aware of an issue with a lifting bolt hitting the belt. I finally suspect an improper dealer setup! there are two adjustments to the U device that connects to the front axle. The "keeper" bolts were never tightened! I cannot locate a true description of how to adjust the length of this assembly that affects the belt tension. NOT the front deck lift adjustment! Also, what is the correct belt tension? I have the tools for all. This is a very common issue with 2 blade decks. As an engineer, I am sorry I bought this.

·
blinged out
1,215 Posts
the deck belt is tensioned by a spring [john deere's favourite method}. I understand as an engineer you would like to have a belt deflection measurement but I don't think it's going to happen! the front bar adjustment has very little to do with belt tension ,more of deck leveling front to rear!
I think you need to have someone sit on the tractor with the deck engaged and raise /lower the deck watching what's happening to the belt might give you better insight into what the problem is!
my 2 neighbours have 2 blade decks and I don't think they've changed a deck belt in years! i have 2 three blade decks and they both have original belts and ones an 08!
I was never a fan of starting a deck at full throttle like the manual instructs. some machines require it ,others don't. my 500/54 will start the deck at idle,my 540/54 needs a shot of choke or raised rpm to engage without stalling!

·
Rich
413 Posts