My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Total newbie here. Was looking at a used cub, but my wife allowed for a new unit instead. So, on to Deere as family has had good luck and the reputation is stellar.

So, with budget and thoughts in hand, I've decided on a D140. I'm going to get the snow blower attach, maybe the front blade too. And the bagger. Basically, it will be used for light/medium duty residential mowing, moving stuff in the trailer (logs/rocks), and then leaf pickup in the fall. Until snow, then it will be used even more I'm sure. Upper Michigan.

My question revolves around a 4 year warranty extension. Actually it's 4 years total, so only 2 years. I'm sure I should be directed to a dealer, but I'm buying from Lowes. So, with that in mind, is the $250 warranty extension a good idea? Lowes service plan a waste? Any comments on my choice (is this the appropriate tractor?)?

Kind thought and patience from the wise community appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
13,361 Posts
Welcome to MTF!

Sorry I cannot directly answer your warranty question but it would seem like the thing to do depending on what is covered. Over the course of 4 years you will certainly work the bugs out of it. You may also find you want to upgrade or change your set up. A warranty may make the D140 easier to sell if needed. Kind of my 2 cents.

Good luck! I am sure someone in your shoes will be along shortly to give you a more direct answer.

·
That Guy
1,160 Posts
Get the extended warranty, and if you can afford to- move up to a D160- it has a stronger transaxle.

·
JoaT,MoN
379 Posts
If you're a Veteran and can prove it, buy it this weekend and take the 10% off :trink39:

·
Registered
1,777 Posts
If you can afford the extended warranty and it gives you extra peace of mind then why not. Go for it :thThumbsU

·
Super Moderator
16,674 Posts